prompt:

Assess your skills according to the TDSB ICT skills continuum for grade 12s.   For each skill, describe the criteria that you feel you achieve and describe the skills you still need to develop.   Pick the skill where you need the most development and suggest two ways school could help you develop the skill.

MY   THOUGHTS:

Technology Operations & Concepts:
  • I consider myself a very organized person. I pride myself in my ability to organize and categorize files on whatever device I'm using into appropriate  folders and subfolders. Similarly, I've managed to develop my skills well enough in software suites like Microsoft Office that I'm able to fluently and cohesively accomplish the tasks listed in the Fundamental Skills section. 
  • At this point in time, my skills are more focused on online tools and software, so my skills with Digital Tools (hardware) aren't as developed. however, I consider myself a fast and willing learner, so should the situation arise, I'm sure I could teach myself some basic skills with whatever Digital Tool we may be using.

Research & Information Fluency:
  • Research has never been something I enjoyed doing.  It's because of this that I haven't exactly been excited at the idea of improving my Research & Information Processing skills. That being said, I have enough experience, earned from several high school research projects, to know how to conduct an online source, where to look, and how to identify the validity of a site.
  • While I'm careful never to take credit for someone else's work, I have truthfully never considered online pictures to count as someone else's work. I am very comfortable using citation builder sites for facts and information, but my skills in the category of Ethical Use of Information may not be so developed in the area of pictures.

Critical Thinking & Problem Solving:
  • My leadership and organization skills really apply in the category of Project Management. Almost without thinking, I'm able to organize my thoughts and research using technological tools, as well as collaborate on, or delegate tasks in group projects.
  • Similarly, I am most proud of my ability to designate specific tasks to specific online tools, or to use one or more online tools in collaboration to solve a problem. This idea of Technology Selection is what I would call the most important component of Digital Literacy.
  • I may not be the best at games, partly due to my habit of "rage quitting" when I start losing. I'm not the best at learning to play new games, nor am I the best at sticking with them when the going gets tough. Overall, I leave Digital Simulation and Gaming to the experts.

Communication & Collaboration:
  • I find my collaboration skills easily translate from the real world to the online world. I would be a helpful and collaborative member of an online forum, as well as a knowledgable admin, should the situation arise. So long as I'm proficient in the course myself, I'd also be able to collaborate on curriculum content. My Online Collaboration skills would come in handy when working online with peers.
  • One of the best parts of the IDC class is the fact that all the resources are centralized in one online location. I find it really easy to navigate idcict.mscuttle.com, and really enjoy participating in an online classroom environment to demonstrate my Online Learning skills.

Digital Citizenship:
  • As stated previously, I may not be as well-versed in my Digital Rights and Responsibilities as I thought I was. The majority of training I've received in the areas of understanding plagiarism and creating citations has been in an English classroom. Because of this, I understand I may not take someone eles's ideas and claim them as my own, however only now do I realize how strictly this rule applies to digital images, videos, audio, and other media. I guess with the popularity of tools such as Google Images and Youtube, which make it easy to take photos and videos off of the "public" part of the Internet, it's difficult to make a distinction between what is truly common and what belongs to someone else.
  • As far as Digital Etiquette and Safety, I think I am capable of assessing the validity and safety of a site, just as a reasonable person is able to assess the validity of a "too-good-to-be-true" advertisement or assess the safety of a potentially dangerous neighbourhood. I am also a responsible  and respectful person, and believe these skills carry into the online world.
  • It's incredibly common for computer users to be guilty of terrible computer posture and ergonomics. I am no exception. I know I should get better at improving my Digital Health, but like eating junk or lounging on the couch, the temptation to lie in a more comfortable position while typing is often too strong to resist.
  • I'm not entirely sure what Digital Access entails, but if I am correct that assistive technologies are devices used to advantage disabled computer users, than I have to say I don't use any assistive technologies, because I have no need for them. If Digital Access consists of knowing what options are available to help those with accessibility problems, then I would say that I do have a basic understanding of the accessibility options offered on a computer or iPhone.

Creativity & Innovation:
  • I am capable of creating and uploading media to various online tools and services. I have no particular aptitude for photography or music composition, but I do possess a basic understanding of the "publishing" process for Creative Work.
  • One cannot go through high school today without being able to develop the skill of Innovative Work. Various projects are completely dedicated to the creation of new ideas using online tools and technologies. Even the most basic projects require the use of Powerpoint for the final presentation.

While I am extremely comfortable mastering computers and technology from the "inside", using various software and web-based programs to problem solve, I believe I am least prepared in the field of  Digital Tools. This may be because I've had more practice working with software, as it's easier to use in every classroom. Regardless, this is a skill that some classrooms are failing to teach.

Schools could help develop this skill if:
  • Some projects consisted of the use of appropriate digital tool (hardware). Working with Powerpoint develops my software skills, but only tools such as "digital cameras, voice recorders, interactive technologies, digital probes/sensors, hand-held devices, [and] GPS – Global Position Systems" can develop my Digital Tools skill. 
  • Of course, many would argue that it's easier to assign projects based on tools that are accessible and plentiful in school and at home. This brings me to my next point.
  • It's important for schools to invest in providing classrooms with more digital tools. Students have to be prepared to work with technology; online and in the real world. Classrooms should be stocked with appropriate digital tools so teachers can make use of them. The science equipment that last year's IDC students brought back into the classroom comes to mind in this situation.




Leave a Reply.